Now You Can Decide What Happens To Your Google Account After You Die

A new feature was announced today on one of Google’s official blogs. The Google Public Policy Blog outlined a new feature that helps you “plan your digital afterlife.” Here’s an excerpt from the blog post:

The feature is called Inactive Account Manager — not a great name, we know — and you’ll find it on your Google Account settings page. You can tell us what to do with your Gmail messages and data from several other Google services if your account becomes inactive for any reason.

For example, you can choose to have your data deleted — after three, six, nine or 12 months of inactivity. Or you can select trusted contacts to receive data from some or all of the following services: +1s; Blogger; Contacts and Circles; Drive; Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; Picasa Web Albums; Google Voice and YouTube. Before our systems take any action, we’ll first warn you by sending a text message to your cellphone and email to the secondary address you’ve provided.

For more information, click here.

Tags: