slim book

Ultra-Slim Tablet Keyboard & Detachable Case
for Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro

Slim Book Case with Keyboard for the Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro

slim book

Ultra-Slim Tablet Keyboard & Detachable Case
for Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro
Description

The ZAGG Slim Book gives you the premier mobile typing experience. It’s super thin and easy to take anywhere, and converts into one of four modes (Keyboard, Video, Case, Book) so it’s always ready for work or play.

  • Four Modes: Converts into a Keyboard, Video, Case, and Book mode.
  • Multi-Angled: Its unique hinge offers 135° of viewing angles — just like a laptop.
  • Type in the Dark: Backlit keys make typing in low-light areas easy on the eyes.
  • Lasting: A powerful lithium polymer battery provides up to two years of regular use between charges*.
€119.99

Availability: In stock and ships free.

Free shipping on all new orders to the E.U.
€119.99
Free shipping on all new orders to the E.U.
Ultra Slim

Ultra Slim

Measuring a mere 14.8mm, the Slim Book lives up to its name – making it simple for you to take anywhere.

4 Modes
Type Naturally

Type Naturally

Type just as fast and naturally as on a traditional laptop keyboard thanks to the Slim Book’s perfectly spaced, island-style keys. Don’t continue battling smaller keyboards that slow you down and make typing awkward. Email, take notes, blog, and more the way you’re used to with the best typing experience available. And, with backlit keys, you can type late into the night without slowing down.

Type Faster

Type Faster: Perfectly spaced keys maximize space for faster, more natural typing – just like a laptop.

Type in the Dark

Type in the Dark: Light the way and make low-light typing easy with backlit keys you can adjust to three brightness levels.

Take the Shortcut

Take the Shortcut: The Slim Book includes all your favorite shortcut keys, plus a few more to make your mobile typing faster and easier.

Type, Don’t Tap

Type, Don’t Tap

Why waste time with mobile keyboards that cramp your style and prevent you from working and playing the way you want? Experience mobile typing the way it was meant to be with the Slim Book’s spacious keyboard.
Tech Specs
Slim Book 135 Degree Hinge and Island-Style Keys
The ultra-slim design is easy to carry when you’re on the go.
Magnets preserve battery life by activating your iPad’s sleep/wake function.
Backlit keys make low-light typing easy.
A two-year battery life keeps you going longer than most other keyboards so you can do more without stopping to charge*. *Using the backlit feature will impact battery life and require more frequent charging
  • Battery Life:

    Battery Life: 2 Years Battery Type: Lithium Polymer
  • Backlighting:

    Backlit & Non-Backlit Versions
  • Multi-Angle Viewing:

    Yes
  • Detachable Case:

    Yes
  • Warranty:

    1-Year Warranty
  • Tablet Function Keys:

    Yes
  • Island-Style Keys:

    Yes
  • Language Options Available:

    Yes
  • InvisibleShield Friendly:

    Yes
  • Materials:

    Polycarbonate and Aluminum
  • Hinge Mechanism:

    Yes
  • What’s Included:

    Slim Book Keyboard and Top Case, Micro USB Charging Cable, Quick Start Guide

Downloads

Owner's manual
Created with Sketch. Slim Book Online Manual
Reviews

Reviews & Questions

Reviews
Slim Book Case with Backlit Keyboard for the Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro (English US) is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 251.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgraded Design / Light Weight and Protective I previously had a similar Zagg keyboard folio but the hinge design had issues and would eventually break. This new design seems to have corrected the hinge issues and has made using the new folio a breeze.
Date published: 2019-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Clam Case When my ClamCase died - I knew it was time for a replacement. It would not connect with Bluetooth and needed constant re-charging. Ordered another ClamCase. Had a similar problem with the Bluetooth pairing. When I called for support, I was told it was a problem with my iPad. Returned it and starting doing some research. After reviewing over a dozen different cases, I determined that the Slim Book Case was exactly what I needed. Ordered directly ZAAG. Case delivery and easy setup. Would buy another one if I had another iPad.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service, unfortunately, this is the second replacement due to plastic fatigue on the hinge which causes the unit to malfunction.
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second zagg dock I like the zagg dock series. This is the second that I have had in 19 years, and I have found this new one to be just as user friendly as the first. I have used the first very hard in 23 foreign countries as a foreign correspondent, with no problems at all. The new one, coupled with a new apple product, appears to be working just as satisfactorily. Keep it coming, you make a great product!
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lighted keyboard is great This is my third backlit keyboard from Zagg. I love these things. Granted, they last for two to three years, but I hate using the IPads keyboard. It’s also a case that holds your pad upright when your using it, then just flip it closed. As I am off grid, the backlit keys unable me to use the pad without having extra lights on in my cabin. Zagg is a decent company with good customer service too, highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lifelong customer I have found that the Zagg products are only exceeded by the Customer Service. I find any experience with this company to be a satisfying one. I would recommend them completely.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Great Customer Service I’ve been working with this iPad Pro 9.7 Bluetooth keyboard case for 5 months and the product was working perfectly. I was using it 4-8 hours every day including weekends. It developed a problem with keys not working reliably. I contacted customer service via their chat feature on their website and they walked me through the warrantee replacement process, quick and easy. That was two days ago and my replacement is being delivered tomorrow. The test of a company’s customer service is when something goes wrong and they come through as professional, helpful, and fast. ZAGG measures up, I will be buying more ZAGG products in the future. Thank You ZAGG.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Early Performance Review After researching a number of IPad cases with keyboard, I bought the Slim Book case for my 9.7 IPad Pro about two months ago. I had read a number of reviews both good and bad on this product. My early assessment of it is the quality is very good, keyboard works great and overall I am pleased with it at this point especially after some reservation due to several negative review which have not proved to be so.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Pleasant Surprise Have been very pleased with this product. Didn’t realize how much I missed a REAL keyboard for the iPad until starting using this device. Very versatile and doesn’t add much weight or bulk to the iPad, over all. Still working on familiarizing myself with all the features of this device but gerenally pretty straightforward to use right out of the box. s far as I’m concerned, it good investment.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I like is very simple to user, is practical make my world very easy, very good.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from having owned more than one slimbook cover on both IPad Mini & IPad Pro this is definitely the go to accessory for the Apple product. Works as if Apple designed it expressly for their product. Keyboard is quality and withstands hours and hours of typing. If anyone is looking to take their IPad to the next level of productivity the Zagg Slim Book is a must! Thanks for engineering a great product!
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the money X10 Protects my iPad Pro along with ThinkPad feel key board...will never go without this functionally and smart addition to computing.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged and Performs as Advertised I have had the slim keyboard for about a month. So much more robust that the Apple version. You can actually type on the keyboard as the action of the keys is similar to a full size keyboard. A number of reviews I read prior to my purchased made negative comments about the durability. I don't normally abuse my electronic equipment, but I see no reason why someone would have problems with its durability.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Can’t Live Without!!! I bought this about 90 days ago... had a little issue with the case part of this “tearing” where the tabs from the keyboard line up.. but contacted ZAGG.... and they completely replaced it for me.. and I can not live without this keyboard!! It’s so nice to finally have with all of the programs to make typing a lot faster than just the iPad keys.. Love Love Love this!!
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great keyboard I have had this for a couple of weeks but use it daily for writing e-mails, filling forms or documents. Hooks up by Bluetooth easily and works great.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the keyboards! This is the 3rd or 4th keyboard I have gotten....most of them under warranty. The hinge was the problem before. Now the spacebar stopped working. No prolem with replacements. Love these keyboards!!!
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific service! This is my third ZAGG keyboard and it’s a great product. Hinge broke on most recent one and it was quickly replaced with no questions asked. I will continue to do business with ZAGG.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really light and comfortable I just received my slim book case and I love it. It is so much lighter than the rugged and the keys are more comfortable.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service Excellence! The Slim Book keyboard became a intrical part of my iPad. I used both everyday. Once you start using the Slim Book, you can’t live without it.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this product through Zagg’s warranty replacement program and it is a much better product than my previous keyboard (iPad 9.7 Folio). So far so good!
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer associate's service was outstanding! I bought my ZAGG keyboard from Amazon. Even though I didn't register my keyboard, I still had a replacement shipped to me. As much as I love the Folio keyboard, the product (especially the hinge) breaks so easily. It should not break in 5 months.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and customer service This is the perfect companion keyboard for my Apple Pro IPad. It makes using the IPad for serious writing so much easier.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product. Great people to work with. Very helpful.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Charge time on all my Zagg keyboard folios have used them since my first Ipad. ( the first Ipad).
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! We really enjoy the Zagg keyboard, however this was a replacement and the wrong size was sent. The customer service is incredible.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant simplicity I had an iPad 2 until recently (yes, Dorothy, if you take care of things they will last almost indefinitely!) but it died and I moved up to the iPad Pro 9.7 inch model. With my old iPad 2 I had become quite used to my Zagg keyboard cover giving me the near-laptop functionality AND protecting the auld tablet. I like the idea of keeping my electronics properly protected (see comment to Dorothy above), so I began my search for the PERFECT case/keyboard combination for my new tablet. The Apple cover was nice and uses the integral connection, but doesn’t cover the back of the iPad; numberless other case/keyboards that covered the back of the iPad were available for unbelievably low prices and promised everything, but “too-good-to-be-true” is generally correct (and the reviews corroborated that perspective). Enter the Slim Book Case with Backlit Keyboard. The actual iPad case fullly protects the back of the iPad proper without restricting access to all the ports / switches, camera, etc., and cleverly channels all the sound output right towards the user without exposing the speaker openings. The keyboard offers a near-laptop typing experience (don’t caress the keys - tap them!), and when folded together, the iPad/case and keyboard look more like the afore-mentioned laptop than anything else. The fit and finish are top quality (as expected given the brand and the price) and the entire combination places a pleasant but not onerous heft in your hand. When desired, the iPad/case portion of the ensemble can be removed from the keyboard portion to use in a stand-alone mode. I’m still discovering some of the capabilities of the keyboard, but I’ve already found that it augments the iPad’s many functionalities. The attention that Zagg paid to the design cues on the iPad is obvious - this whole ensemble looks like a single, unified unit. Honestly, what’s not to like? Yes, it costs more than some of the other case/keyboard combinations, but you get what you pay for, and I would rather pay a few extra dolllars and get quality. Get it; you’ll be delighted.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer service was fantastic! I bought this about a year ago. I noticed it had broken about 6 months ago. I happened to be talking to someone and they said that zagg would replace it for free. I thought no way, but when I called they were very helpful and really amazed me!! Great product, great company, great customer service!
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Customer Service! I bought the excellent Zagg Slim Book for my iPad Pro over one year ago and the plastic hinge broke on one side. I contacted customer service and they sent an improved case with a metal-reinforced hinge immediately. I love this case for it’s versatility and ease of use. Top notch product with great customer service.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slim Book - best iPad keyboard EVER The Slim Book for iPad Pro is a great product if you're looking for a full-featured keyboard. Easy to install and set up, and after that it's seamless. Keys have a great feel. It's a little heavy, but that's okay, because it's so easy to detach the iPad from the keyboard and use it separately. This thing is a home run.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found best keyboard with case for my iPad Pro 9.7 I bought this slim book for my iPad Pro and I am very happy with it. It is so convenient while working it and when watch movies or using it as a table it is so easy to move it from the keyboard. Well done ZAGG
Date published: 2017-11-10
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_240
  • loc_en_US, sid_10311, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zagg
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 113.36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Questions

Will this fit the 2017 9.7” iPad?  And if it fits is it garenteed to not cause access issues to any 2017 9.7” iPad buttons, ports, mics, or cameras?  I want a slim book case but I have a 2017 9.7” iPad. 

Asked by: Big_E_DSP
No, the Slim Book case is not compatible with the 2017 9.7" iPad.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2017-10-11

Will the new slim keyboard case for the iPad Pro 9.7 put the unit in sleep/wake? I know the magnets have changed between the iPad Pro and Air 2. Also this question was asked earlier but not answered, does the keyboard case use the Apple Smart Connector?

Asked by: DavefromWI
To answer your questions: Yes, the keyboard has a sleep/wake functionality.  No, it does not use the Apple Smart Connector.  I just received mine today!!
Answered by: Gmtw58
Date published: 2016-05-10

How much the does the slim book for iPad Pro 9.7 weigh?

Asked by: AndyH
I just received my slim book and weighed it on my postal scale.  It came in at 1 lb. 3.2 oz. (19.2 ounces).  With the iPad in it, it would be about 2 lbs. 2 oz.  It is a very sleek case and doesn't feel too heavy.  It has to have enough weight to counterbalance the weight of the iPad itself.  
Answered by: sagesoul
Date published: 2016-07-30

I read that it should be available at the end of this month or beginning of next month and so I ordered one. After ordering I was notified it would be at the end of next month. Is that pretty accurate? This is my 4th zagg case product. 

Asked by: GMTW
Hi! The Slim Book's should start shipping out at the end of this month, not next.
Answered by: Patricia G
Date published: 2017-01-27

How does this case connect to the iPad? Bluetooth?

Asked by: Tab1798
Yes, the case connects via Bluetooth.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2018-02-20

The Slimbook Keyboard for Apple iPad Pro 9.7" indicates sold out online...Does your management have any indication of whether additional units will be available, and if so, when?  Thanks in advance!  Are you taking back orders?

Asked by: Dennis007
Hi there, we expect the Slim Book for the Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro by the end of May. Our fingers are crossed! Keep an eye out.
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-05-18

I see mixed reviews on if this will work with an iPad Air. My current zag keyboard hinge no longer holds

Asked by: Msmelissa518
No, it is not compatible with the iPad Air.
Answered by: Victoria O
Date published: 2018-02-22

I just received my Slim Book for the iPad Pro 9.7" and love it. The only function that doesn't seem to be working is the battery indicator. When I press FN and the Battery Symbol, is it supposed to light up or display the level on the screen? Thanks,

Asked by: Cbuffalo
This should help you https://support.zagg.com/hc/en-us/articles/228655447-How-do-I-check-the-Battery-for-the-Slim-Book-Pro-
Answered by: ZAGG CARE
Date published: 2016-12-27

It was purchased on June 4. After 10 days have passed since the purchase. what ship?

Asked by: huntershoo
Please contact customer service with your order number at (800)700-9244 and they will be able to tell you what's going on. Sorry for the inconvenience!
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-07-15

Will this Zagg Slim Book for iPad Pro 9.7, will it be utilizing the New Smart Power Connect Terminals on the iPad Pro itself, thus just one point of charge needed? Also, is there a weight available on this particular Keyboard Case, Thnx much.

Asked by: Bruzr
This keyboard doesn't have the smart connector on it, and weighs about 3 pounds when the iPad is included.
Answered by: Patricia G
Date published: 2016-05-11

Will you produce a silver/white version of the slimbook for the IPad Pro 9.7?

Asked by: Pattie5
As of right now we only offer the one color combo for the slim book. That is a great idea for a future product. Thanks, ZAGG
Answered by: Emran
Date published: 2016-12-28

How to enable the caps lock function? Whenever I press caps lock key, it appear change keyboard language.

Asked by: Virginia0701
With a recent iOS update, Apple has changed the functionality of caps lock to switch between keyboard languages, making the caps lock feature unavailable. Thanks, ZAGG
Answered by: Sierra E
Date published: 2016-12-21

how much does the slim keyboard case (top and bottom) for ipad pro 9.7 weigh?

Asked by: charnyc
The Slim Book Keyboard Case for the iPad Pro 9.7-inch weighs 1.1 lbs. Thanks, ZAGG
Answered by: Emran
Date published: 2017-02-15

I'm confused. There is no 9.7" pro model. Does this fit the current 6th gen iPad which is .29" (7.55mm) deep?

Asked by: AnnMarieG
There is the 9.7 inch Pro and the 9.7 inch. The Apple iPad Pro 9.7 (2016) is: 240 x 169.5 x 6.1 mm (9.45 x 6.67 x 0.24 in). The Apple iPad 9.7 (2018) is: 240 x 169.5 x 7.5 mm (9.45 x 6.67 x 0.30 in). These two differ in size slightly, which is why this keyboard is not compatible with the 6th generation iPad. We hope this helps!
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2019-02-05

 My keyboard  became unattached to the to my iPad, the magnets have came out of their pockets, I can’t figure out how to put them back in so the keyboard will re attach?

Asked by: Lkotowicz63
We'd be happy to help. please give us a call at 800-700-9244, so that we can guide you towards a solution.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2018-08-09

I have a new iPad 9.7 A1954 (not the iPad Pro). Do you have a case that will fit?

Asked by: osito
No, it is not compatible.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2019-06-25

Are there spaces for all of the speakers on the case for the IPAD PRO?  There are four speakers on the IPAD PRO 9.7in.  from the looks of the video, it looks like there are NO openings for the sound to come out.

Asked by: Lelly24
We guarantee that the speaker openings on the Slim Book are positioned to accommodate the speakers of the iPad.
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-06-21

When will it be available for IPAD 9"7 PRO???

Asked by: Jojo31415
They are coming soon. To stay informed of new product availability, please subscribe to our email marketing list. You can do so on the upper left hand corner of our homepage. www.zagg.com
Answered by: Patricia G
Date published: 2016-04-13

Does the Zagg slim book 9.7-inch iPad Pro wireless keyboard hold my 1893 version iPad?

Asked by: Kforrest
This keyboard is not compatible with the 6th generation iPad.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2019-02-12

WEIGHT?????

Asked by: Evie
The Slim Book Keyboard Case for the iPad Pro 9.7-inch weighs 1.1 lbs. Thanks, ZAGG
Answered by: Emran
Date published: 2017-02-15

Can I replace the batteries myself?

Asked by: Chuckster1
We do not suggest tampering with the batteries, as doing so may void the warranty. You should not have to change the batteries, as the keyboard can be charged through cable provided.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2018-09-04

When will the slim book be out for the iPad pro 9.7? I keep checking your website and it keeps telling me soon. When?

Asked by: In question
We expect the Slim Book to be ready by the end of the month. Thank for your patience, you wont be disappointed!
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2017-01-27

When detached from the keyboard, will the Apple Smart cover fit with the case on the back of the iPad Pro?

Asked by: Pbogits
The cover doesn't work with the case no, as it blocks the iPad from fitting with the magnetic piece of the smart cover.
Answered by: Patricia G
Date published: 2016-06-16

Is this slimbook compatible with the iPad 9.7 not Pro

Asked by: Jac0b
No, this keyboard is only compatible with the iPad 9.7" Pro.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2017-10-23

Is this compatible with the 2017 5th generation iPad?

Asked by: Tab1798
This keyboard is compatible with the iPad 9.7".
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2018-12-13

When will the Slimbook for iPad pro 9.7 be back in stock? Also is it true the Air 2 slim book fit the 9.7 pro (though I assume it will cover speakers and the camera which is fine as long as it won't hurt the iPad)?

Asked by: scifivision
We expect the keyboards for the Apple 9.7-inch iPad Pro to be in stock sometime in late-April or early May. Unfortunately, the Air 2 Slim Book will NOT fit the new 9.7-inch Pro. The form factor is completely different.
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-05-20

Have a new Slim keyboard and case, cannot get the sleep/awake function to work.. Any idea's . Tried re-sync etc. Great function I had on. My old ZAGG keyboard case...

Asked by: AussieMark
Please contact customer service at (800)700-9244 and they will be able to help you troubleshoot the issue!
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-07-20

Is IT compatible for 9,7 2018

Asked by: Anonymous
No, it is not.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2019-06-25

Will the sleeve for the case of the iPad Pro 9.7 be customized to the new speaker locations? I have this case for my iPad Air 2 and want to make sure it isn't going to hinder the improved sound of the new design.

Asked by: scollins3222
Yes, the new Slim Book design will allow optimal sound quality and cater to the updated speaker locations.
Answered by: Anna J
Date published: 2016-06-07

The hinge on my case has broken with only normal usage. Is there any guarantee on this product.

Asked by: FJFG
Yes. Please contact our Customer Support team to see if your device is eligible for a replacement under warranty. 800-700-9244.
Answered by: Anne T
Date published: 2018-04-12
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_10311, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_zagg
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61.28ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT